It’s Been Awhile

I haven’t posted to my blog in awhile. I have been so busy, I did not have that much time to devote to it. Not only was I incredibly ill and struggling with my diet and eating enough, I was going to school full time, moving, going through a background process for a volunteer position, training for my internship, and working part-time. I ended up losing quite a bit of weight during this time. Of course I want to lose weight still, however losing near almost 10 lbs in 2 weeks is not healthy, especially since I am considered to be within a normal weight range.

Since then I have 5 lbs back and am hovering around 150 once again. Now I’m struggling with my diet in other ways. Before I had to force myself to get in 1,000 calories, now i’m having difficulty staying below 1,600. I just want to eat everything all the time and my addiction to sugar is back in full swing.

I am still on an omnivorous diet. I was feeling very guilty about this. I wanted to stick within a vegan diet so desperately. I do not like animals being killed for my food or suffering for my food but with my illness and being so sensitive to so many plant and processed foods…a vegan or even vegetarian diet is not a sustainable option for me and I wonder if it truly ever was.

I was a vegetarian for about 5 years. Then became incredibly ill and ate meat for about a year. Then I was a vegan successfully for a year and 3 months, became incredibly sick and went back to eggs and dairy. The eggs and dairy helped clear up some symptoms I was having (lethargy, dry skin, fogginess) but then my stomach problems kicked into full gear. Eating meat helped me get enough calories and energy in without causing my stomach terrible pain.

It seems so confusing to me. I have read, over and over that meat is difficult to digest but that doesn’t seem to be the case for me. I decided that I am no longer going to complicate matters. I know what hurts me and I know what helps. I feel a twinge of guilt over eating an animal but I have one life and I don’t want to spend it in pain. If eating meat helps keep my health issues at bay, that’s what i’ll do.

I have tried quite a bit of meat since coming back. I have strictly said no to beef. I can’t eat a beautiful cow. I tried pork, its totally gross. I refuse to eat any processed meat products. Most fish are out. I don’t like the idea of eating chicken, but it is lean and inexpensive for the certified humane options. It’s also in abundance so I keep it in mind. Turkey I like. Lamb-a big freaking no. I bought some $5 pole caught tuna in a can. I am also a fan of the bison steak. Only in the form of steak though. Ground has way too much fat added to the mix. I am not sure about shellfish. Most packaging does not specify where it comes from and having aquatic creatures myself, i’m wary about eating sea creatures.

Anyways, I am going to go back to keeping track of all the stuff I usually do starting today and will most likely post on either Sundays or Mondays for now on.

Until Next Time,

Whit

Leave a Reply

