Moving and Feeling Better

So this post is a day late! I considered skipping a post this week because I started to feel lazy but talked myself out of it. This blog is part of keeping myself accountable. So I am going to treat it as the tool it is meant to be. This past week has been very busy. On top of me still suffering from the aftermath of my GERD attack, last Sunday was the official start of me and Paul’s move! We moved out of the country side of Hillsboro into the suburban area of Portland. I am so happy to be out of our old house. There were a lot of problems with the building such as mold, moisture, fungus, the roof leaking, rats in the walls, ants, spiders and the occasional millipede, slug, and wasp sneaking its way in through the many openings of the building which the manager of the property was either financially unable to fix or just did not care too. In addition it was impossible not to walk through chicken excrement before getting into our old place. As much as I liked the chickens, I didn’t care for their poop being all over my shoes.

The first night sleeping in our new condo I started to feel physically better. My airways were still pretty inflamed but things weren’t as bad. With each passing night sleeping in our new place I am feeling healthier. My anxiety has waned as well. I am sure stress contributed a lot to my physical illness. I am trying to manage this stress more and it is getting easier. Now that I feel strong enough to exercise I have been trying to get in physical activity once a day. Exercise is such a phenomenal stress reliever for me, I feel that if I don’t do it I will inevitably become sick.

I am still trying to figure out what to do about my diet. I am still confused and worried about eating foods. My appetite is coming back though. Before I had to force myself to eat. Now I am making sure I don’t eat too much. I love plain turkey sandwiches with lettuce however I think I may have a wheat allergy. When I stopped eating lots of foods, I noticed that my skin itching had stopped. I always assumed I had dry skin but now i’m thinking the itchiness is due to a dietary allergy. After incorporated different types of food back into my diet, the itching started after I had some shredded wheat. Then I ate breads and started feeling my throat become very constricted. I am going to exclude the wheat from my diet again.

My throat closing up might have to due with typical seasonal allergies as well or even damage from my acid reflux attack. I don’t know but I am going to exclude wheat until I get an allergy test done at my doctor’s office telling me I am safe to eat it.

Here is last week’s stats

5.3 ac

I reached my activity goal for all days that my goal was 310. Monday is the day where my watch starts the new week over so I raised my goal to 350 and didn’t make it. I am still proud though. I had to lighten up my goal while recovering. as I get stronger i will continue to up my activity goal.

5.3 ca

my calorie intake was pretty good except for Sunday. I was still feeling pretty bad and then lost track of time with the move. So lunch came late and by the time I realized I was hungry it was already past 8 pm!! My goal is to have all my meals consumed around 6:30 pm and definitely no later than 7 pm. This is to prevent acid reflux while in bed. I am more susceptible to nighttime attacks than day time. This is pretty typical for most people suffering from GERD since the stomach becomes level with the esophagus while laying down and the relaxed LES is open to let the flood of acid come up. I have purchased a wedge pillow with an incline of 7 in to help with this. I also use another pillow on top of it and it seems to be helping. Sleeping on it has been an adjustment but I really love it now!

5.3 ex

Yes!!! my exercise has become pretty decent over the past week. I told Paul that I feel a hint of jealousy every time he completed a work out and my watch alerted me because I wanted to exercise too and couldn’t. Perhaps jealousy is the wrong word though. Maybe just sadness? I don’t know. I am proud of my husband’s deciding to exercise more too. I want us to live together for as long as possible. Hopefully when we pass away, it is peacefully while together in our sleep. I am morbid though and have sad thoughts that I will develop esophageal cancer and die. I try not to think too hard about that though. I tend to freak out easily and become negative about my own health and circumstances. I know this is something I have to get under control. Mental health is just as important as physical health and the two are pretty interrelated.

5.3 fi5.3 su5.3 wa

My fiber intake has been great. It’s easy when my fiber supplements are sugar free gummy bears! I need to pick up a new bottle because I am almost out! Constipation will never happen to me again, I swear this. Sugar has been mostly good. My birthday was on Friday. So I celebrated Thursday with an acai bowl from Jamba Juice. It was marvelous. Then I sucked down vitamin water on Monday and coconut yogurt on Saturday. I think I drank more than 60 oz of water on Thursday but did not log it and Sunday, I was so busy I didn’t log any liquids. I’m sure I didn’t drink enough though. My mouth has been super dry lately. Even as I’m writing this I have already consumed 80 oz of water and I feel parched. I will probably have to talk to my doctor abotu this as well.

5.3 we

My weight has gone down and up. At least it’s all been within the 149-150.6 range. I know the bread bloated me up pretty good. I’m looking forward to this new week coming up.

Leave a Reply

