Late!!!

This post is overdue. Last week I mentioned being sick. This week was worse. This was the sickest I have been in about two years when I was first diagnosed with Gastroesophogeal Reflux Disease otherwise known as GERD. It made me realize that last week was just the preamble to the pain I would experience this week. Long story short, I started vomiting around 2:00 am Sunday morning and it did not stop until around 6:00 pm when I took the anti-emetic a doctor prescribed to me over the phone. I was dehydrated from vomiting up water and of course, not being able to drink water, could not keep down food. I only ended up eating a bit over 400 calories that day which was an overestimate because I only took three bites of the oatmeal I made in the evening because I was still in pain. The pain steadily decreased due to my new regimen of medication. I take five types over the course of the day 10 times.

The pain has subsided but my throat is tight and it feels painful to speak. On top of all this now I became horribly constipated. This was not mere constipation, this was me thinking I was dying constipation. As a person who has been formally diagnosed with Complex Post Traumatic Stress Disorder I feel safe in saying that this constipation experience has traumatized me. I will not get into the dirty details because, frankly, I wish to forget it.

I won’t completely forget it though because I am going to do everything within my power to ensure that I am never constipated again nor suffer a horrible acid attack.

I decided to completely re haul my diet. I have an appointment with my Dr. and a dietitian in the next three weeks to talk about what exactly I need to do to make sure these things never happen. I am going to get back into exercise and lose these last twenty pounds to put me squarely in the healthy weight category.

I am determined to get better. That being said in the interim I have decided to focus on a diet of veggies, fruits, and lean proteins. I started eating animal meat which I hadn’t done in a very long time. I experimented with turkey bacon which made me feel quite good. Next I will try chicken. My protein sources will most likely be chicken, tofu, and turkey. I don’t know if I want to experiment with shellfish or not but perhaps. Of course all the fruits and veggies I have not had adverse reactions to in the past.

Anyways, here is last week’s stats:

 

4.21 active

Activity has gone down substantially since I started to feel sick. I have had little energy.

4.21 cal

My calorie intake had not been too bad except for Saturday night, the night before I had the terrible acid attack. I started to get to the point now when i’m happy I manage to get 1,300 calories into myself. What sucks is that my weight is still higher because of the bloat and constipation from not being able to digest my food properly due to all the medication I am on.

4.21 fiber

My fiber intake had not been very great the last three days of this week. I have been mindful of it though since I started to suffer from constipation.

4.21 sugar

The high intake of sugar was due to the smoothie from Jamba Juice and the popsicles I have been eating to soothe my throat and get extra calories into myself.

4.21 weigh

152.3 is the lowest weight I had been. Got there from not eating though so not really a true weight. My weight had gone up since then despite eating between 950-1100 calories most days. I am sure this is due to constipation and bloat. I am worried that after I stop the medication on Monday that the pain will come back but I am hopeful that it won’t. I know without stomach acid I cannot digest food properly or absorb vitamins and mineral like I should. I think this is why I have gotten so sick so often since being diagnosed with GERD. I have been on proton pump inhibitors and having difficulty with my digestion. Constipation has never been an issue until now, but things are not going well for me and I know I have to make a permanent change if I want to be healthy.

 

Until next time

-Whitters

 

Leave a Reply

