My Solution to Pancake Tuesday

I mentioned earlier this week that I was going to try to keep my sugar intake to 25 g or less. Well, after carefully reading information about sugar from the American Heart Association I realized that this means ADDED sugar. Not all sugars like I had thought previously.This is great because I was upset and confused about these guidelines and wondering why fruit is proposed as a healthy snack on one hand but off-limits because of the sugar content on the other. Well folks I learned the differences between natural and added sugars and thank goodness for it. That being said I usually make pancakes once a week on a day Paul and I are both home.

My pancakes are made with a tablespoon of white sugar and smothered in chocolate sauce with powdered sugar on top. Paul usually opts for butter and boysenberry syrup or authentic maple syrup. I did not even need to look up the overall sugar content for this meal, I knew it was way over my budget. Then the solution came to me.

Before I started my year-long vegan experiment I used to make these pancakes all the time. Now that I no longer restrict animal products from my diet I decided to give this recipe a go once again.

banana-pancakes

This is the glorious result. Of course I spiced up the mix just a little bit. I think 2 eggs and 1 banana is slightly bland so I added vanilla extract, cinnamon, and a teaspoon each of hemp hearts and chia seeds to the mixture. I served it with 1/4 cup of plain goat yogurt, 1/2 cup of strawberries, 1/2 tablespoon of honey and a tablespoon of crushed almonds. This gives me that sweet fix I seek for breakfast occasionally and especially now since I have been feeling sugar withdrawals this past week.

The only added sugar in this recipe is from the honey which comes out to about 8 grams for the 1/2 TB. The eggs, nuts, and seeds are sugar-free, and the banana, strawberries, and goat yogurt are natural sugars. This meal also comes out to 400 calories which is a pretty darn good breakfast.

Leave a Reply

